Marty Recognitions

In March, 2000 the Wireless Hall of Fame was launched to recognize outstanding individuals across all segments of the wireless industry. Induction into the Wireless Hall of Fame is one of the industry’s highest honors, acknowledging the leadership, innovation and achievement of each honoree.

Marty was one of the inaugural inductees into the Wireless Hall of Fame, honored at an awards ceremony in Scottsdale, AZ on March 20, 2000.  Joining Marty in this honor were:

  • Robert Galvin, Chairman and President of Motorola from 1956-1990
  • Irvwin Jacobs, Co-Founder and Chairman of Qualcomm
  • Fred Link, Founder of LInk Radio Corp. and Radio Club of America President 1968-1992
  • Craig McCaw, Founder McCaw Cellular Communications, Chairman of Clearwire and Chairman and CEO of Eagle River Investments
  • Andrew Viterbi, Co-Founder of Qualcomm and Linkabit Corporation, Professor of Engineering at UCLA and UCSD and creator of the Viterbi algorithm

In 2010, the Wireless History Foundation assumed responsibility for continuing the Wireless Hall of Fame.

Read about the 2000 Wireless Hall of Fame inductees here.